Frankfurt's Districts

Frankfurt has around 760,000 inhabitants (2022). The number of inhabitants has increased continuously since 2009; in 2009, there were not even 650,000 people living in Frankfurt. Nevertheless, Frankfurt is relatively small compared to other big cities.

The city area of ​​Frankfurt is divided into 46 districts for statistical purposes. By name, however, there are only 43 districts, since three of them (Nordend, Sachsenhausen and Westend) are once again divided into east, west, north and south. In contrast to the 16 municipalities and 121 urban districts, the districts are not defined by a statutes and have no administrative function.

Stadtteile Frankfurt

Until 1866, the urban area of ​​Frankfurt consisted of the city district – with the present-day districts of Altstadt, Innenstadt, Bahnhofsviertel, Gutleutviertel, Gallus, Westend, Nordend. Ostend, Riederwald and Sachsenhausen – and the town of Frankfurt, as well as the eight villages of Bornheim, Hausen, Niederursel (partly with the Grand Duchy of Hesse), Bonames, Nieder-Erlenbach, Dortelweil, Oberrad and Niederrad. After the annexation of the Free City of Frankfurt by Prussia, its former territory formed the Administrative District of Frankfurt.

Beginning in 1877, the municipalities of the township, and in 1910, the Frankfurt District (formed in 1885), were gradually integrated into the city of Frankfurt. The last incorporation took place in 1977. Only Dortelweil (today a district of Bad Vilbel) does not belong to the urban area of ​​the former Frankfurt villages.

No independent districts are different development areas such as the European District, the Financial District and Gateway Gardens (an office area next to the airport).

  • Altstadt
  • Bahnhofsviertel
  • Bergen-Enkheim
  • Berkersheim
  • Bockenheim
  • Bonames
  • Bornheim
  • Dornbusch
  • Eckenheim
  • Eschersheim
  • Fechenheim
  • Flughafen
  • Frankfurter Berg
  • Gallus
  • Ginnheim
  • Griesheim
  • Gutleutviertel
  • Harheim
  • Hausen
  • Heddernheim
  • Höchst
  • Innenstadt
  • Kalbach-Riedberg
  • Nied
  • Nieder-Erlenbach
  • Nieder-Eschbach
  • Niederrad
  • Niederursel
  • Nordend (East/West)
  • Oberrad
  • Ostend
  • Praunheim
  • Preungesheim
  • Riederwald
  • Rödelheim
  • Sachsenhausen (North/South)
  • Schwanheim
  • Seckbach
  • Sindlingen
  • Sossenheim
  • Unterliederbach
  • Westend (North/South)
  • Zeilsheim

Leave us a Comment